New Page 1
Stop the FTAA!  
  PlaceHolder for
A CFR Member Behind Every Bush
The New American

The New American, August 13, 2001

The following Bush administration appointees or nominees are current or former members of the Council on Foreign Relations. Many nominations have yet to be confirmed by the U.S. Senate.




Nominee/Appointee Position
Richard Cheney Vice President
Condoleezza Rice National Security Advisor
Franklin C. Miller Special Assistant to the President and Senior Director for Defense Policy and Arms Control
Jendayi E. Frazer Special Assistant to the President and Senior Director for African Affairs at the National Security Council
George J. Tenet CIA Director
Anne O. Krueger Member of the Council of Economic Advisors
James L. Connaughton Chairman, President’s Council on Environmental Quality
Torkel L. Patterson Special Assistant to the President and Senior Director for Asian Affairs, National Security Council staff
John B. Bellinger III Senior Associate Counsel to the President and Legal Adviser to the National Security Council
Marcia E. Miller Member, Commission on Presidential Scholars
Fr. Theodore Hesburgh Member, Commission on Presidential Scholars
Zalmay Khalilzad Special Assistant to the President and Senior Director for Gulf, Southwest Asia and Other Regional Issues, National Security Council.
Charles Blahous III Member of the National Economic Council, Executive Director of the President’s Commission to Strengthen Social Security
Donald Rumsfeld Secretary of Defense
Paul D. Wolfowitz Deputy Secretary of Defense
Douglas Jay Feith Under Secretary of Defense for Policy
James G. Roche Secretary of the Air Force
Dov S. Zakheim Under Secretary of Defense (Comptroller)
Leo S. Mackay Jr. Deputy Secretary of Veterans Affairs
Peter W. Rodman Assistant Secretary of Defense
Alberto Jose Mora General Counsel of the Department of the Navy
Christine Todd Whitman EPA Administrator
Elaine Chao Secretary of Labor
Kenneth I. Juster Under Secretary of Commerce for Export Administration
Faryar Shirzad Assistant Secretary of Commerce
Kathleen B. Cooper Under Secretary of Commerce for Economic Affairs
Peter S. Watson President of the Overseas Private Investment Corporation
Kenneth W. Dam Deputy Secretary of the Treasury
Peter R. Fisher Under Secretary of the Treasury for Domestic Finance
Viet D. Dinh Assistant Attorney General
Henrietta Holsman Fore Director of the U.S. Mint
Jon M. Huntsman Jr. Deputy United States Trade Representative
Robert B. Zoellick U.S. Trade Representative
Colin L. Powell Secretary of State
William J. Burns Assistant Secretary of State for Near Eastern Affairs
Lorne W. Craner Assistant Secretary of State for Democracy, Human Rights, and Labor
Walter H. Kansteiner Assistant Secretary of State for African Affairs
C. David Welch Ambassador to Egypt
Howard H. Baker Jr. Ambassador to Japan
Paula J. Dobriansky Under Secretary of State for Global Affairs
Richard Nathan Haass Director, State Department Policy Planning Staff
William H. Taft IV Legal Adviser of the Department of State
John Robert Bolton Under Secretary of State for Arms Control and International Security
Charles A. Heimbold Jr. Ambassador to Sweden
John D. Negroponte U.S. Representative to the United Nations
Shirin R. Tahir-Kheli Head of the U.S. Delegation to the United Nations Commission on Human Rights
Franklin L. Lavin Ambassador to Singapore
Michael E. Guest Ambassador to Romania
Alexander R. Vershbow Ambassador to the Russian Federation
Daniel Charles Kurtzer Ambassador to Israel
John Price Ambassador to Mauritius
Carole L. Brookins Executive Director of the International Bank for Reconstruction and Development (a part of the World Bank)


New Page 1

© 2006 is a campaign of The John Birch Society Privacy Policy

Home Home